Monday, 3 March 2014

A&T X-country, Kendal Saturday 01/03/14 – by Mark Riches

First of all, a big THANK YOU to Suzanne Gregory for covering for me once again; she even gave me a few snippets for this report

It was a lovely sunny day when 8 x A&T runners arrived at Crooklands, Kendal for the last x-country race of the season. The tent was up in 2 minutes flat courtesy of Dave Crowe and Scott Priestley with Shaun Moran doing a great job of supervising

Only 2 A&T ladies tackled the 5.9k course; Suzanne, who had already won the L35 club champs, finished an excellent 17th in a time of 22:45 followed by Brenda Wane (27:25) – well done ladies

Next it was the turn of the 6 A&T men; 10.3k this time. Simon Ford was first A&T finisher in 35:47 and in doing so secured the senior men’s club title. Apparently Simon brought a rubber brink with him although nobody is sure why! Shaun had a great run and finished 12 seconds behind Simon to secure 2nd place in the vets club champs (Tim Campbell had already secured victory in this category at Blackburn) Neil Hughes (37:32) was next followed by ‘ever present’ Ian Newcombe (38:47) Ian is the only A&T runner to complete all 10 races. I am going to make a concerted effort to match that next season! Scott (40:40) and Dave (44:12) completed the line-up – well done lads

Suzanne was kind enough to bring party rings and jammy dodgers but was upstaged by Red Rose’s team champagne. Incidentally having checked the results not sure what they were celebrating!

Well done to everyone who raced on the country this year and congratulations to all trophy winners (listed below)

35 & over women
Suzanne Gregory
Brenda Wane

Under 40 men
Simon Ford
Neil Hughes
Scott Priestley

40 & over men
Tim Campbell
Shaun Moran
Ian Newcombe

Final team standing are below; top 2 clubs promoted & bottom 2 clubs relegated (phew!)

Ladies Division 2
Wigan Harriers 25
Kendal AAC 24
Clayton le Moors Harriers 21
Accrington RR 20
Astley & Tyldesley 17
Border Harriers 11 0
Wigan Phoenix 0

Men Division 2
Wigan Harriers 27
Wesham RR 24
Lancaster & Morecambe 23
Astley & Tyldesley RR 22
Glaxo Hoad Hill Harriers 20
Chorley Athletic & Tri 9
Wigan Phoenix 6 0

No comments: